Early Years Foundation Stage

Children in Early Explorers, Nursery and  Reception classes follow the  ‘Statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage’ and ‘Development Matters.’ Further details can be found following using the links below:


Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage


Development Matters

National Curriculum

‘Every state-funded school must offer a curriculum which is balanced and broadly based and which:

  • Promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical development of pupils at the school and of society.

  • Prepares pupils at the school for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life.’ DFE The National Curriculum in England KS1 and KS2

  • The national curriculum forms one part of the school curriculum

  • Trinity makes provision for personal, social, health and economic education (PSHE)

Here at Trinity we aim to deliver a creative, varied curriculum that allows each and every child to reach their full potential.

In accordance with the National Curriculum the children from key stage 1 (year 1 and 2) and key stage 2 (years 3, 4, 5 and 6) study the following subjects.

Core subjects:

  • English

  • Mathematics

  • Science

Foundation subjects:

  • Religious Education

  • Computing

  • Geography

  • History

  • Art

  • Physical Education

  • Music

  • Design Technology

  • Personal Social and Health Education

  • Spanish

 Please click here for more information on The National Curriculum.